NIHIL ULTRA: Nothing Beyond

Department of Physics (M.Sc.)

Dr. Indranath Chaudhury (IC), M.Sc (CU), Ph.D (CU).
Head of the Department

Click here for online application form

M.Sc. Physics Department

The physics department offers an M.Sc. course in physics. There are two specializations: (1) Astroparticle Physics and (2) Solid State Electronics. The students are taught computer programming in Matlab and Python. They are also taught computer interfacing of experiments. The expEYES Junior Kits have been procured also for use by the students.

A new computerized German equatorial mount 14" Celestron CG Pro Telescope has been procured with the help of a FIST grant from DST in 2012. There are Scmidt Cassegarin optical telescope tubes. This has been installed in the new Father Eugene Lafont Observatory, which was inaugurated in March, 2014.

A workshop for students of Astroparticle Physics, "JESCOL II, The Second Jesuit workshop in Observational Astrophysics", was organized in the department from February 3-6, 2015. Students from St. Joseph's College, Bangalore also attended. Eminent speakers like Dr. Somak Raychaudhuri, Dr. Biman Nath and Dr. Dipankar Bhattacharyya, gave talks.

The Solid State Electronics Laboratory has many electronics based experimental units related to both analog and digital communications, fiber optics and microcontrollers. Hall effect measurements and magnetoresistance setups are also included.

The Science Academies Lecture Workshop, jointly organized by The National Academy of Sciences, The Indian National Science Academy and the Indian Academy of Sciences was held in the department of physics on August 8th & 9th, 2014. Eminent scientists like Dr. Arup Roy Choudhury and Dr. Indrani Bose delivered talks.

Anjasha Gangopadhyay, a student of the 2012-2014 M.Sc. batch is currently pursuing her Ph.D. degree at ARIES, Nainital . Deeptak Biswas of the same batch qualified in NET.


A Summer School on Optics & Photonics was held from June 2 to June 12, 2015, on the occasion of the International Year of Light 2015.

The 3rd Father Verstraeten Memorial Lecture titled "The surprising story of Random Walks", was delivered by Prof. MustansirBarma of TIFR, on August 28, 2015.

On October 16, 2015, a one-day Radio Astronomy Workshop (RaWa 2015) was organized. Among the speakers was Dr. Henry Throop from USA, who had worked on a NASA mission to Pluto.

On January 11, 2016, Prof. Betti Hartmann of IFSC, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil, gave a talk on "101 years of General Relativity - where do we stand in 2016?"

On January 19, 2016, a Workshop on Biophysics, sponsored by DBT, Govt. of India, under the STAR College scheme, was organized.

On February 19, 2016, a workshop on VLSI was organized.

Prof. Anirban Ray attended a Workshop on "Research Based Pedagogic Tools in undergraduate teaching", organized by DBT at IISER, Pune, from March 10-14, 2016.

The annual event of the physics dept., SPECTRUM 2016, was held on March 21, 2016, Prof. SoumitraSengupta and Prof. AmitabhaLahiri gave invited lectures.

Prof. Tapas Das of HRI, Allahabad gave a talk entitled "Transonic Black Hole Accretion: A Dynamical Sysytems Approach" on April 4, 2016.

Mohd. Mursalin Islam of 3rd year B.Sc. Physics (Hons.) stood first in JAM 2016 and 2nd in JEST 2016.

Student Achievements


Mohd. Mursalin Islam stood 1st in JAM 2016 and 2nd in JEST 2016.


Aditya Choudhury joined the Integrated Ph.D. program at TIFR. Seven students of this batch went on to pursue their M.Sc. in Physics from the different IITs.


Indranil Roy stood 1st in JAM 2014. He, along with Soham Bhattacharyya and Sudip Chakravorty went on to join the Integrated Ph.D. program at TIFR. Soumyananda Goswami went to HRI. Seven students of this batch went to the different IITs to pursue their M.Sc. in physics. Anjasha Gangopadhyay, after completing her M.Sc. from SXC, joined the ARIES Observatory in Nainital to do her Ph.D.


Roopayan Ghosh stood 1st in JAM 2013. He went on to do his M.Sc. at IIT Bombay. Raghav Govind Jha went to the US to pursue his Ph.D. degree, after completing his M.Sc. from SXC.